

## Haughton

**2013** 

Best Kept Village Competition
Newsletter

September



## **Trophy Presentation Event**

Haughton's achievement as Best Kept Village (large or small) in Stafford District was celebrated at a special presentation event held on Friday 20<sup>th</sup> September on the green at the corner of Newport Road and Jolt Lane. The ceremony took place by the Trophy pole, which has been on this site since it was won in 2011.

The guests were welcomed by Mike Allen, Chairman of Haughton Parish Council. John Perry, MBE, Chairman of the Best Kept Village Competition Working Group gave an introduction to the event, with many comments of praise for this year's achievements. The presentation of the Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd Trophy. together with a brass plate bearing Haughton's name and the year, was made by Mr David Owen, OBE, Chairman of Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd. After accepting the trophy, Councillor Derek Warbrick, Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council and BKV Leader gave an overview of Haughton's recent successes in the competition, culminating in this year's 'third in a row' and thanked all the people involved in this achievement. The ceremony was concluded by the Mayor of Stafford Borough, Councillor Angela M Loughran, who expressed her appreciation to the village for also bringing the title of Best Kept Large Village in Staffordshire to the Borough.

Amongst other people attending were the Mayor's Consort, Mr John Loughran, JP, Chris Welch, Chief Executive Officer of The Community Council of Staffordshire, Mrs Perry, Mr Amyas Stafford Northcote, Chairman of CPRE Staffordshire, Best Kept Village judges, representatives from Haughton Parish Council, St Giles' Church, and Haughton Village Hall, members of Haughton Garden Guild and Haughton Women's Institute and other residents of the parish whose hard work and dedication earned this year's award.

Following the ceremony, refreshments of tea, coffee, sandwiches, nibbles and cake were enjoyed at the Village Hall.





Top right: The Mayor's Consort, the Mayor of Stafford Borough and Councillor Mike Allen, Chairman of Haughton Parish Council

Right: Councillor Derek Warbrick accepts the Trophy from Mr David Owen, OBE.

Below: The Mayor with Mr Bert Moore













